Traditional vs Internet

NewspaperSon I can close my eyes and vividly picture my grandfather sitting in his favorite chair after work reading his evening newspaper. He was the typical Archie Bunker. Every evening, coming home, grabbing a highball, and reading the evening news. Those were the traditional evening activities of most families back in the days of the hard workers. I believe those days involved a newspaper delivery in the morning, to enjoy with a cup a coffee and a second delivery to enjoy after work. Those days are long gone.

Newspaper Blog    http://www.theverge.com/2012/3/20/2886806/the-decline-of-print-visualized-us-ad-sales

Numerous newspapers across the country are turning to on-line editions only. The decline of newspaper is a direct effect of technological advances. Newspapers are feeling the pinch due to advertisers moving their ad budgets to online media sources. Here are some sobering facts. Catholic Online states, “Between September 2008 and September 2009, the U.S. print sector lost more than 24,500 jobs, while the broadcast sector eliminated more than 8,300 positions. Journalism job losses peaked at 7,398 in December 2008. Newspaper jobs appear to be in much worse shape than other areas of the media industry. According to the Bureau of Labor statistics, the U.S. journalism industry lost jobs at the pace of almost three times more than the economy’s average of the total, at a monthly rate of 22.23 percent and 8.1 percent, respectively. There have been 166 U.S. newspapers that have shut down or stopped putting out a print edition since 2008.” Even though there are losses of jobs when it comes to jobs with newspaper production, there is an increase with online employment.
It is obvious that most companies are turning to the internet to advertise their business. I do not remember the last time I looked at a newspaper for information. I search the web for roofers, plumber, and doctors, anything I may need help with. You can search people, employers, vehicles and even credit reports. You cannot find this information, in depth, in the newspaper.

News TV Blog                                       
About a year ago I received a sales call for the local newspaper. I decided to try a temporary subscription for three months. I found it very difficult to find time to read it, yet I found time to keep up on the news online. I found it much easier to read the news while surfing the web. I did not renew my subscription, but I did feel guilty when I canceled. As far as viewing local news, I would watch the news on the television. What I find interesting is that I believe none of my children have ever looked at a newspaper.
Other than the ease of web news, I like the range of news readily available for viewing that is not found in the local newspaper. On the web there is news that is free to view and just as interesting. During my search for a new home it was nice to look at home interactively, rather than just looking at a picture in a newspaper. It was a time saver rather than having to just look at the outside and read a description. I was able to weed out what did not suit my needs. Craigslist can be a nice forum for classifieds to interact and negotiate prior to meeting with an individual on a sale or a purchase.

Unfortunately, I think it is only logically for all news to structures its business for online access. Advertisers will be focusing on online consumers and eventually everything will be heading in that direction. Books, magazines, and newspapers will all be online access. Almost everyone has online access in some form, whether at work, school or home. My guess would be that the traditional newspaper individual is a dieing breed and I do find that sad. I find comforting memories in my childhood of my grandparents reading their newspapers.

I have a picture of my twins when they were 2 sitting on their potties holding a newspaper each. I don’t think it would have been as cute with them holding a tablet.

3 Responses to “Traditional vs Internet”

  1. moglelindsay Says:

    1. I want your grandfather and I to be best friends. Unfortunately his generation is keeping print journalism relevant, especially in communities like Utica and Rome. When I would be out on assignments for the newspaper elderly people knew more about the work I was doing than my own mother. They remember every photo I ever took and even started bringing an umbrella or a water bottle at sporting events they knew I would be at.
    2. My journalism job was one of the thousands lost. While I left the paper on my own in fall 2011, the low pay and no chance of promotion/raise, combined with the ridiculous hours made it impractical to continue as a career. Which is unfortunate because I truly loved the job.

    • GroovyOne31 Says:

      I do find that sad and unfortunate that such changes can destroy a passion one may find in a career. Not everyone is so lucky to “EVER” get in touch with their true passion in life, so to find it and lose it to technology is a difficult pill to swallow.

  2. Ali Says:

    Thanks For Your Blog.


Leave a comment